Middle School – Years 7, 8 and 9

IB MYP Programme

Sha Tin College is a fully authorised IB World School for the Middle Years Programme (IB MYP). IB World Schools share a common philosophy- a commitment to high-quality, challenging, international education- that we believe is important for our students.

We are proud to offer a diverse and broad curriculum that includes a wide variety of subjects, allowing students to work with specialist teachers to discover new passions, to develop important skills and nurture personal growth. For more information about the specific subject areas, see the tabs below.

The IB MYP is an academically rigorous programme, aiming to challenge students, and encourage them to make connections between their learning in different subject areas, and to real-world scenarios. The curriculum is concept-based, which allows students to transfer information from one context to another, and enables a deeper understanding. It is also skills-based, which empowers students by ensuring they are ready to face an ever-changing world. As an international school, Sha Tin College aims to nurture globally engaged students, with a strong sense of intercultural understanding.

Meaningful participation in service is required for all Middle School students, as we aim to develop empathy and kindness. The culmination of the Middle Years Programme is the Community Project which occurs in Year 9. Students work in small groups to take action against an issue they identify within their local community.

The Middle Years Programme is part of the IB Learning Continuum, therefore students coming from schools delivering the Primary Years Programme (all ESF Primaries) will be familiar with the terminology and style of learning. The IB MYP will be a thorough grounding for students as they progress into the Senior School and continue their studies with their (I)GCSE courses in Years 10 and 11, followed by the IB Diploma Programme or IB Careers Programme in Years 12 and 13.

Warm regards,

Angus Bell-Scott                                        Harry Bradley-Barnard 
IB MYP Coordinator                                  Head of Middle School

*Only schools authorized by the IB Organization can offer any of its four academic programmes: the Primary Years Programme (PYP), the Middle Years Programme (MYP), the Diploma Programme (DP), or the Career-related Programme (CP).  For further information about the IB and its programmes visit http://www.ibo.org

YEAR 7 Transitions

Information on Year 6/Primary 6 students transitioning into the Sha Tin Community for Year 7 can be found at this link: Sha Tin College – Year 7 Transition

IB MYP Curriculum

IB MYP Prospectus

IB MYP Curriculum Overview

IB MYP Assessment and Reporting

IB MYP Language Options

IB MYP Assessment Criteria

General Grade Boundaries & Descriptors